Therry Penola vs NOBSPC

Division 1
Score: 129 - 51
Brunswick Brunswick (as NOBSPC)
Therry Penola Therry Penola
72 - 59
Dragons Dragons
191 - 33
Seaford Seaford
7 - 21

Match Report

What can you say? Therry showed why they are the red hot flag favorite by giving us a 13-goal hiding on their home ground. NOBSPC applied good pressure for the first quarter and a half, with both sides on 4 goals apiece for some time, but then completely unravelled as Therry kicked 12 of the next 13 goals.

We simply couldn’t match the run and spread of Therry nor could we curtail their genuine star Jarrod Bannister (8 goals). We are now 2 games behind second place with 5 to play, but do still have a 2 game buffer inside the final 4.

We started the game brightly enough and had plenty of it without capitalizing, kicking 3.7 in the first term. In the second quarter we again had numerous inside-50s that went unrewarded. Our lack of crumbling forwards to pounce on the spoils effected by the strong Therry defence was particularly telling. Easy goals conceded late in the first half meant the scoreboard did not reflect our effort, but they proved to be a foreteller of much worse to follow in a disastrous third quarter.

Adam Oakley’s stellar form continued as he was again our best. We also appreciated the return of Matt Chapman who kicked 5.5 out of a team score of 7.9. Chapman now has 18 goals in just 4 games. Finding best players beyond that was hard work. Damon Byrne was excellent early and Dylan Clarkson tried hard in defence all day. Jez Nettlefold also stuck to his task well.

Next week becomes an even bigger game against Old Geelong as we fight for credibility within the top 4. We would love see a big turn out at Gillon Oval to support the boys.

35. Matt Chapman 5 2
12. Damon Byrne 1 3
75. Brenton Hunt 1 6
31. Adam Oakley 1
24. Jeremy Nettlefold 4
32. Dylan Clarkson 5
62. Christian Ryan
36. Daniel Tonkin
14. Dean Beaumont
2. Jarrod Wade
21. Lachlan Ezard
8. Matt Keown
22. Michael O’Donoghue
47. Patrick Kelly
9. Peter Shepherd
23. Ryan Benoit
39. Timothy McCullagh
42. Timothy Weaver
27. James Mirtschin
18. Peter Carter
3. Nick Holt
33. Scott Niewand

Venue location

John Pascoe Fawkner Reserve

Francis Street and Winifred Street, Oak Park VIC