Club celebrates first year as Brunswick FC

At the Annual General Meeting held on Monday night the Club celebrated its first year as Brunswick Football Club Incorporated and an unchanged executive was elected to guide us through a period of ongoing development and change. It was also announced that our coaches from 2018 would be returning, which is another vote of confidence for the direction the Club is taking.

The Club’s 2018 Annual Report presented at the AGM can be read here.

The Committee for 2019 is as follows

Co-Presidents: Jarryd Browne & Kim Hennessy
Vice-President: Peter Hevey
Secretary: Tim Purdey
Treasurer: Craige Mott
General Committee: Caitlin Blackwell, Kelly Dungate, Jessica Finlay, Mitch Piazza, Bernie Skahill, Francis Valente, Denise Zumpe.

After more than 10 years on the Committee, Trevor Ludeman (President 2008-11) is stepping down and he was thanked for his incredible service. Felicity Smith has also stepped off, probably to concentrate on going back-to-back with senior Best & Fairests. We welcome Francis Valente and Denise Zumpe to the Committee.

On the coaching front, Leonie Hennessy will continue to guide the Renegades and Anthony Palmer is again coaching the NOBs, with their assistants and reserves coaches also coming back. John Ross will take over as coach of the Under 19s from Trevor Ludeman.

Craige Mott reported on a small trading loss due to once off rebranding costs and declining revenues, predominantly from bar takings and fund-raising activities, but was confident that this would be corrected with a greater focus on growing revenues next season.

The re-election of the State Labor Government on the weekend was of great significance to the Club as it has promised to contribute $1 million towards the Gillon Oval Master Plan, which provides for the continued improvement and renovation of facilities. The Club is currently working with other members of the Brunswick Community Sports Club to obtain similar commitments from Federal and Local Governments.